The Patent Cooperation Treaty is an international treaty that facilitates foreign patent filings for residents of member countries when obtaining patents in other member countries. Member countries include all European countries, Mexico, Canada, China, Japan, Korea, Russia and many other industrialized countries.

No certified copies of the original application are needed and most expenses are delayed until two and a half years after the original filing. Compare with The Paris Convention.